Notes on EC 2

Received a text message from Pen late Sunday afternoon, informing me of an EC rehearsal featuring a full lineup. Apparently Koj and Bar are in town, so they’ll be able to handle bass and vocal duties respectively. The designated studio was supposed to be the rat infested one in Terminal Makmur but I remembered the last time Ralat had a session there and the vocal PA was out of order. A few phonecalls later, the venue was changed to Sinar Legenda, a studio in Kubang Buaya, at 9.30 pm. It also transpired that Bar had to leave town earlier than he had expected and had to skip the session. Bummer. We would’ve been able to just jam at the terminal without worrying about the PA since there would’ve been no vocals afterall. Oh well.

Excited at the prospect of playing with the full band again, I left home at 8.30, with Kak G and Kak Yam in the trunk of my car. Picked Koj up from his place and we caught up on things on our way to the studio. The last time I saw him was probably 2 years ago in Putrajaya. It’s good to know he’s doing great in his career.

At the risk of sounding peculiar, Koj and I have always had a special relationship, him being one of my best friends. An unfortunate turn of events involving him and P had soured our friendship somewhat, exacerbated by our respective place of residence. I could write a whole episode based on our trials and tribulations but it won’t be necessary. Sure, I detect a sense of awkwardness in our conversation yesterday but at least we’ve established contact again after all these years. And what’s more, we’re playing together again!

So we arrived a little before 9.30 at the studio. Pen and Men, accompanied by old teamster Day arrived, fashionably late as always, 15 minutes later. Set-up and tuning took around 10 minutes with me on the ASAT and Meny on the Yamaha. Men brought a setlist (awwww) comprising all recorded EC material plus the unrecorded stuff. My immediate reaction after the first song was over: tight as a Jaafar *nn’s ass. Looking around at everyone’s smiling faces as the dying notes of Say You Love Satan dissolve into air-conditioned air, it was priceless. We ploughed on, sounding fresh as shit on Chaos Mosh, Systematic Death and Evolved to Obliteration.

13 Comments

Filed under anecdotal

13 responses to “Notes on EC 2

  1. ted

    mmmm ….bila le aku leh jumpa korang n tgk korang jam …damned I miss the good old days

  2. Anytime ted, datang ah Kuantan. Tido umah aku pun boley.

  3. Thee Dr.

    ‘Evolved to Obliteration’-is it Enslaved Chaos covering Fascist Insect covering Enslaved Chaos?! I feel a paradox forming…dimensional vortex opening….I’m getting sucked in….AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!
    But seriously, I’m fuckin’ shocked you guys got it together-hope it’s not a temporary burst of energy on the part of…–but I’m kinda optimistic at this point.

  4. Thee Dr.

    Afterthought: is it just me or is this whole article written in code? (‘Kak G’, ‘Kak Yam’, etc.?)I think I know what yer talking about, tho.

  5. Dr, hehe you’re such a scifi nerd. But yeah, I get kinda warped-up over it too. I’m optimistic too and we got pics to prove it. Will email them to you, son.

    I meant to put in the links earlier (updated in the entry) but the connection keeps blocking me. Those are my two guitars, one of which (The Yamaha) will be sold off soon. Meny uses it when we jam, which gives him the heaviness and warmth from the Duncans. My G&L, by contrast is cold. I managed to get kinda middy distortion for the rhythm chug on the centre position. For leads I just switch on the bridge p’up and the licks just shine through. I daresay EC sounded more ‘proto’ than than ever.

  6. duudaa

    Dear Easeart Jalil,

    Time will heal wounds but scars remain. If only we let bygones be bygones, there won’t be such a chaotic world – no great inspiration for EC too…

  7. duudaa, very true. I just get nostalgic when I think of the good old days. I guess the lesson is: people change. It’s not our place to judge if the change is for better or worse. We adapt if we still love the people around us.

  8. Thee Dr.

    That’s good-EC (in my opinion) were painfully lo-fi most the time. I mean we just used whatever gear we could get our hot little hands on–it’s goo that you guys upgraded the sound..pics? HELLYEAH!!!

  9. Dr, the sound is still raw and needs very little updating. What has come through experience though, is a more acute awareness of the things we’d like to achieve and maintain sonically.

  10. Thee Dr.

    Yeah!!!! So what is everybody listening to now?

  11. ted

    mmmm,,,,insyallah bulan 8 nie kalau takder aral aku akan ke kontan…nanti aku ingat nak lepak dgn bebudak nie ler….weihh mat leh…mu biler nok balik sini?

  12. Thee Dr.

    Tatau le saya….

  13. ted

    finally…..mat leh bercakap melayu…huahahaha…i’ll miss u bro….

Leave a Reply

