A, listen to Neruda speak my Heart

Your Laughter

 Take bread away from me, if you wish,

take air away, but

do not take me from your laughter.

 

Do not take away the rose,

the lance flower that you pluck,

the water that suddenly

bursts forth in joy,

the sudden wave

of silver born in you.

 

My struggle is harsh and I come back

with eyes tired

at times from having seen

the unchanging earth,

but when your laughter enters

it rises to the sky seeking me

and it opens for me all

the doors of life.

 

My love, in the darkest

hour your laughter

opens, and if suddenly

you see my blood staining

the stones of the street,

laugh, because your laughter

will be for my hands

like a fresh sword.

 

Next to the sea in the autumn,

your laughter must raise

its foamy cascade,

and in the spring, love,

I want your laughter like

the flower I was waiting for,

the blue flower, the rose

of my echoing country.

 

Laugh at the night,

at the day, at the moon,

laugh at the twisted

streets of the island,

laugh at this clumsy

boy who loves you,

but when I open

my eyes and close them,

when my steps go,

when my steps return,

deny me bread, air,

light, spring,

but never your laughter

for I would die. 

There’s been a most fortunate improvement of Mama’s condition. Her liver is showing signs of recuperating and she regained consciousness although still a bit disoriented. Papa is overjoyed and stuffing himself with the kuinin from Kuantan.  All of which brings back the flicker of mirth into A’s eyes and fills her with laughter that has failed to grace her being for such a long, cruel time.

6 Comments

Filed under anecdotal, appreciative

6 responses to “A, listen to Neruda speak my Heart

  1. Ryna :)

    Alhamdulillah…!

    That’s a great news for everybody! ^_^
    i hope she’ll recover quickly and doing much better.

    anyway, ada kuinin lagi tak di rumah? hehe..

  2. A

    “There is no remedy for love but to love more.”
    -Thoreau

  3. A

    Babe,

    Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson and wife Dany Garcia Johnson have separated, they have announced in a statement to PEOPLE…

    *smiles secretly*

  4. Ryna:)… Bekalan kuinin sentiasa ada di rumah. Sila datang untuk mendapatkannya.

    A… Good, he can go marry some steroid-peddling pharmacist next. Sheesh.

  5. yoyea

    Alhamdulillah…semoga mama beransur pulih..always pray for mama n for both of u…semoga sentiasa bahagia n happy selalu.untuk your wife A..Send my regards…seorang anak dan paling penting seorang isteri yang sangat tabah dan soleh…

  6. yoyea… Terima kasih. Jumpa lagi.

Leave a Reply

