About

As a speck of dust in the universe, my existence must not matter that much to you. You have never heard of me or spoken to me. My face is among the billions that crowd your planet. Like I must not know you, it is imperative that we shall remain mutually anonymous.

Being mutually anonymous, however, does not mean ignoring each other’s presence. Being members of the human race has never stopped people from saying hi on trains or arching an eyebrow upon meeting another pair of friendly arched eyebrows.

Since it’s my turn to say something, and I can be friendly, this is the part where we do some small talk. I’m going to be 31. I teach at a regular Malaysian school. Wife and kid, the works. I try to love my job, be true to myself, never desert my family, provide for my loved ones, be courteous but resolute, always signal before changing lanes, chew with my mouth closed, worship God, exercise, trim my pubes, have great sex, teach the word ‘elbow’ to my daughter. Like I said, the works.

You like music? Me too. I am an admirer (but never a connoisseur) of works by Neil Young, Johnny Cash, Elton John, Sheryll Crow, Fleetwood Mac, Queen, 80’s to mid-90’s M. Nasir, early Search, The Police but not Sting, U2, Francesca Peters, Khadijah Ibrahim, Metallica, Hijrah, Slayer, Iron Maiden, Black Sabbath, Dayang Nurfaezah, Minority, Syafinaz Selamat, Finley Quaye, Jaclyn Victor, Carburetor Dung, Richard Ashcroft, Led Zeppelin, Starsailor, Coldplay, Dull Entertainment Programme, Suede, The Smiths, The Misfits, Sex Pistols, Bad Religion, NOFX, Green Day, Blink 182, Massive Attack, Portishead, Radiohead, some Autechere, Cypress Hill, A Tribe Called Quest, Run DMC, Tone Loc.

I’ve watched and enjoyed Lake House, Everybody Loves Raymond, The Lord of the Rings trilogy, the first 3 Star Wars, Weeds, Monty Python, Black Adder, Opah, Santan Berlada, The Professional, Taxi Driver, The Usual Suspects, The Big Lebowski, Pulp Fiction, Combat, High Chapperal, Hunter, Cagney and Lacey, The Fall Guy, Cheers, Family Ties, Weeds, The Shawshank Redemption, Truman Show, The Truth About Cats and Dogs, Riding In Cars With Boys, Monalisa Smiles, Sumpah Semerah Padi, Project A, God of Cookery, Shaolin Soccer, (you guessed it) the works.

I like to read and sometimes I play the guitar. I have opinions but not always ready to share them. I am a Muslim by birth and probably will be for life. I enjoy a few pints now and then and always smile with Husin and I am smiling now as I write this sentence and think about you.

I blog here because I blog here.

You come here because you come here.

15 Comments

Filed under anecdotal

15 responses to “About

  1. high chapperal-klasik siut.. go monalito!!!

  2. by the way lobo..selamat new year to you n utk semua.

  3. encik chala

    your existence is fairly matters most yet enough to influence at least the likes of my behavior.perhaps it may not projected so, but the influence,despite the interpretation of others considering it good or bad,has as well influence the brothers too.that i guarantee.its 430 a.m and im not asleep.
    i am smiling but not with Husin.im missing home but i’ll live. existentialist is always cool.

    “let the hush be a word,
    a nod to say you’ll always love me”

  4. BStarfish

    You mentioned Weeds twice in a para. Shows how much “it” influences you ey. *wink*

    …and I will always come here…as one of your silent readers.

  5. Pingback: About You About Me. « Tell Tales

  6. BStarfish

    How the…??!! *frown*

  7. tarantula: manolito montoya is the ccolest mexican ever!
    en. chala: ahaks *blush*. hang tough bro!
    BStarfish: LOL. Weeds is very influential indeed. Nancy Botwin is a Goddess. I’m linking your site. Hope you don’t mind.

  8. brokenstarfish

    *blush*

    hik hik!

    I feel SO honoured!

    Thank you.

    *lambai stail model*

  9. A

    I keep telling myself don’t get drawn in…but seriously how can I NOT??!! koya jgn tak koya, en. tarantula…! Might I just add your beloved Borat has won a Golden Globe. So go ahead and gloat!!

  10. tarantula

    cannot joke,u better stay in the mosque la-puah chuh kang
    -mentel la lu..stail emo hindustan.dok beh lalu

  11. tarantula

    sacha baron cohen is borat

  12. jack

    hi,

    nice blog..

    jack (x-kuantan)

  13. yaya

    yeah…you are my bro.having you made me feel i’m the most grateful sis in the world.luv you and good luck.muahh!!

  14. jack… weh lama tak jumpa! Mana ko pergi?

    yaya… so what are you going to sing for alang’s wedding?

Leave a Reply

