Selected Quotes

I have been subscribing to the feeds from Quotes of the Day for quite some time. So, as a time-filler and to assuage some guilt for not posting, here’s a selection of them thingies:

Mark Twain
“I have never let my schooling interfere with my education.”

H. L. Mencken
“The older I grow the more I distrust the familiar doctrine that age brings wisdom.”

Paul Valery
“Politics is the art of preventing people from taking part in affairs which properly concern them.”

Frank Herbert
“The beginning of knowledge is the discovery of something we do not understand.”

Albert Einstein
“Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I’m not sure about the former.”

Bruce Grocott
“I have long been of the opinion that if work were such a splendid thing the rich would have kept more of it for themselves.”

B. F. Skinner
“Education is what survives when what has been learned has been forgotten.”

Adolf Hitler
“What luck for rulers that men do not think.”

Kurt Vonnegut
“Maturity is a bitter disappointment for which no remedy exists, unless laughter can be said to remedy anything.”

George Bernard Shaw
“He who can, does. He who cannot, teaches.”

Stephen Hawking
“I think computer viruses should count as life. I think it says something about human nature that the only form of life we have created so far is purely destructive. We’ve created life in our own image.”

Victor Borge
“Laughter is the closest distance between two people.”

Henny Youngman
“I once wanted to become an atheist, but I gave up – they have no holidays.”

Jane Wagner
“Reality is the leading cause of stress amongst those in touch with it.”

Paul Gauguin
“Life being what it is, one dreams of revenge.”

 Albert Einstein
“Common sense is the collection of prejudices acquired by age eighteen.”

W. Somerset Maugham
“It was such a lovely day I thought it a pity to get up.”

Dylan Thomas
“An alcoholic is someone you don’t like who drinks as much as you do.”

Jules Renard
“Laziness is nothing more than the habit of resting before you get tired.”

Thomas Merton
“The least of learning is done in the classrooms.”

Edward Abbey
“No tyranny is so irksome as petty tyranny: the officious demands of policemen, government clerks, and electromechanical gadgets.”

Norman Douglas
“Education is a state-controlled manufactory of echoes.”

Friedrich Nietzsche
“Insanity in individuals is something rare – but in groups, parties, nations and epochs, it is the rule.”

Voltaire
“I have never made but one prayer to God, a very short one: ‘O Lord, make my enemies ridiculous.’ And God granted it.”

2 Comments

Filed under appreciative

2 responses to “Selected Quotes

  1. Ryna :)

    hey, i kinda like Voltaire’s quote! (^_^)

  2. I’ll tell him that when I see him. LOL.

Leave a Reply

