Midlake : The Trials of Van Occupanther

I’ve been listening to a lot of this album by Midlake, a band from Denton, Texas. The sound is pop and reminds one of vintage Fleetwood Mac and Harvest-era Neil Young. The funny thing with it is it manages to sound modern and progressive as well, with a few tracks adorned with minimalist analogue synth.

Midlake writes gorgeous songs of rural loneliness and this is (get this) a concept album of sorts. It entails the adventures of a certain Van Occupanther, born in 1891. So expect a lot of references to trees, snow, winter sky, hunters, jilting brides and other types of rural melancholia.

This entry is merely a note of appreciation and not really a review. If interested, you can go here or here.
It’s definitely one of my personal musical moments this year. Can’t stand My Chemical Romance, me.

And while I’m at it, I must admit a puzzling aversion towards home-themed songs like Padi’s Ke Mana Pun Angin Berhembus, U2’s Walk On, Simon & Garfunkel’s Homeward Bound or Michael Buble’s (blush) Home. So, transcribed below is my current favourite Midlake song entitled Head Home.

No-one seems to be around today
They must’ve all gone off without me again
I think I’ll head home

Maybe I’ll find them gathered ’round my doorstep
Oh, to sleep in a comfortable bed
I think I’ll head home

No-one seems to be around today
They must’ve all gone off without me again
I think I’ll head home
I think I’ll head home

Bring me a day full of honest work
and a roof that never leaks
I’ll be satisfied

Bring me the news all about the town
How it struggles to help all the farmers out
During harvest time

But there’s someone I’d like to see
She never mentions a word to me
She reads Leviathan

I think I’ll head home
I think I’ll head home
I think I’ll head home

Bring me a day full of honest work
and a roof that never leaks
I’ll be satisfied

Bring me the news all about the town
How it struggles to help all the farmers out
During harvest time

But there’s someone I’d like to see
She never mentions a word to me
She reads Leviathan

I think I’ll head home
I think I’ll head home
I think I’ll head home
I think I’ll head home

I think I’ll head home
I think I’ll head home
I think I’ll head home
I think I’ll head home

Midlake links:

Official Band Site

Midlake at MySpace

Midlake at Bella Union

Leave a comment

Filed under appreciative

Leave a Reply

